Minister for Local Government’s Place Innovation Awards 2023

The Minister for Local Government’s Place Innovation Awards are designed to recognise and promote innovative place-related projects, policies and activities involving local governments in Western Australia.

Nominations for the Minister for Local Government’s Place Innovation Awards closed on Friday 18 August.

Winners will be announced on 17 September 2023 at the WALGA Awards.

31 applications were submitted, including 22 from metropolitan Perth and Peel and 9 regional.

On this page

A blue gradient with texture with the words, 'Minister for Local Government Place Innovation Awards'

Guidelines, terms and conditions

Award categories

A total of 3 awards will be presented, under the following categories:

  1. Metropolitan Perth and Peel
  2. Regional Western Australia
  3. Open category (either metropolitan or regional-based initiative).

The open category award will be chosen by the assessment panel from the submitted nominations and may be awarded to a metropolitan or regional local government.


The awards will be given to a local government that:

  • provides an innovative approach to a place-based opportunity or challenge
  • demonstrates significant improvements to standard practices
  • involves collaboration with external stakeholders  and/or across different departments within the local government (preferably involving external stakeholders as a minimum)
  • could be relevant for other local governments. 


  • The award will be presented to a local government based in Western Australia.
  • The nominated project must have been completed within the last 12 months (it may have started prior to this).
  • The judges or the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries (DLGSC) may request supporting documentation concerning any or all of the above eligibility criteria.
  • The decision upon the eligibility of an entry is final. 
  • Opening date is 8am (WST) Friday, 21 July 2023 and closing date for entries is 5pm (WST) Friday, 18 August 2023. The online entry form must be completed by this time and date. Entries received after this deadline will not be accepted. 
  • After submitting an online entry form you will receive an automated email with your entry number. 
  • Confirmation that your nomination has arrived at DLGSC will be acknowledged by email.


  • Open to local governments based in Western Australia.
  • The number of nominations is limited to 2 entries per local government.
  • Only applications entered via the online entry form will be considered for the Minister’s Place Innovation Awards.
  • Nominations to the Minister’s Place Innovation Awards are free. Nominations must include:
    • a short description of the project
    • the project location, and any supporting documents that proves that the innovation project was within the last 12 months, but it may have been initiated prior to this
    • the project scope, including details which demonstrate how it creates a better place for people.
  • A word limit of 250 words per question applies.
  • Short video links may be included.
  • If further guidance is required on the nomination process, contact
Page reviewed 23 August 2023